Before deleting a franchise determine if this is, in fact, what you need to do. If you actually want to *replace* one or more teams in your league (that is, you still want to keep the same overall number of teams), then use the Advanced Franchise Setup to manually overwrite all of the old franchise information with the new franchise information. Assuming you still want to delete a franchise, know that this is a one-way, unrecoverable (even we cannot restore it for you) operation so PLEASE BE CAREFUL to delete the correct one. Go to the Setup > Delete a Franchise screen, select the franchise from the list, check the disclaimer box and click on the NOW! button. THERE WILL BE NO OTHER WARNINGS. The franchise will be immediately removed, and may not, under any circumstances, be restored after it has been deleted.
Note that you cannot delete a franchise in a historical league. This screen is only available for current-year leagues. Therefore, if you need to remove one or more franchises from season to season, you must first upgrade your league to the current season and then delete the franchise(s).
In addition, you may not delete a franchise more than two weeks into the season. But, if it's more than two weeks into your fantasy season, and you really feel you need to delete a franchise, you may use this work-around to temporarily fool the system into thinking that it's within two weeks of the start of the season:
- Go to the General Scoring Setup page and temporarily set the start week for your league to be a week within the last two weeks. For example, if it's currently week 6 of the 1996 NFL season, change the start week on that page to week 5 or 6.
- Delete the franchises that you wish to delete.
- Go back to the General Scoring Setup page and reset the start week for your league to be the correct week.